Books similar to “Paranoia,” Joseph Finder?

Just finished the awesome book Paranoia, by Joseph Finder and I’ve been itching to reading another book like it. Here’s the synopsis of the book, in case it helps you with any suggestions, thanks!

Author Joseph Finder has written about espionage and international affairs for the New York Times and other newspapers, and is also a member of the Association of Former Intelligence Officers. So it would stand to reason that he had seen it all in the realm of espionage. Yet, in the acknowledgements at the end of the book, he states that his research on his other novels "has taken me around the world and into places like KGB headquarters in Moscow, but nothing prepared me for how strange and fascinating I’d find the world of the American high-tech corporation." In Paranoia, he combines high-tech business with corporate security and espionage to create an exciting thriller that the reader will not soon forget.

Adam Cassidy is the quintessential slacker who is tired of his job at Wyatt Telecom. He diverts corporate funds to throw a large retirement party for a loading dock employee, and he fully expects to be fired for it. But instead he is threatened with criminal charges if he does not agree to steal highly confidential product plans from Trion, a rival of Wyatt. With the help of the Wyatt’s CEO, security chief, and executive coach, he is groomed for an executive job at Trion. He is taught to breach the tightest corporate security and turn over his findings. Thus begins his life as a corporate spy, where the game he is playing becomes more and more treacherous, his loyalties to his friends and employers are stretched to the limit, and he is caught in a web of deceit from which there seems to be no exit.

The characters are well drawn and believable. Finder expertly depicts Adam’s struggle with his conscience, his problems with his ailing father and best friend, his worries about being unmasked as a spy, and his fondness for his Trion CEO. This makes him a very sympathetic protagonist. The two corporate presidents are strongly contrasted: the Wyatt CEO is ruthless, aloof, and vain; the Trion CEO is paternal, benevolent, and demands honesty. Also included in the interesting cast of characters are a quirky staff engineer, some power-hungry middle managers, a jealous and competitive coworker, and a shady security chief with a penchant for violence.

The suspense kept me on the edge of my seat, and the final plot twist was a powerhouse. Not only is this a fast-paced thriller, but it provides fascinating facts about espionage and corporate security. Each section defines an espionage term, which is then exemplified in the story line. I was shocked to learn about how lax corporate security can be, permitting access to password-protected PCs and locked offices and file cabinets. Even badge readers and biometric scanners can be circumvented. This is definitely worth reading, but be sure to schedule it for when you have some spare time, because once you start it you will have trouble putting it down.

not that you were asking for movies, but i can’t help but say, after reading that description, you sound like someone who would really enjoy the movie "Eagle Eye"

i’m not sure about books – maybe try some of dan browne’s stuff? i know those have an interesting mix of espionage, cryptic religious scandals, & a bit of politics…not sure how thrilling they are, but they’re certainly quite complex in terms of plot line.

good luck; hope you find what you’re looking for!

This entry was posted in ceo coach. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Books similar to “Paranoia,” Joseph Finder?

  1. Eve says:

    not that you were asking for movies, but i can’t help but say, after reading that description, you sound like someone who would really enjoy the movie "Eagle Eye"

    i’m not sure about books – maybe try some of dan browne’s stuff? i know those have an interesting mix of espionage, cryptic religious scandals, & a bit of politics…not sure how thrilling they are, but they’re certainly quite complex in terms of plot line.

    good luck; hope you find what you’re looking for!References :

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>